Friday, 20 July 2012

Rotary Essay Competition - All the 2012 Results

Rotary Essay Competition – Results for 2012
Weston Turville School
1St           -              Joseph Parkhouse           (overall Second – will receive a prize)*
2nd          -              Max Dykes
3rd           -              Louis Johnson
Highly Commended        -              Tallulah Woodward / Jack Nuttall
William Harding School
1st           -              Ben Gorman                      (overall Winner – receives main prize and Cup)*
2nd          -              Dominic Histeds
3rd           -              Amy Batt / Charlie Pitchford
Highly Commended        -              Jessica Mabey
St Mary’s School              (School Award for Best Overall Standard)
1st           -              Kieran Howlett
2nd          -              Alex Wadlow
3rd           -              George Harvey
Highly Commended        -              Benjamin Thompson / Georgia Essex / Lorne Hyde
Wingrave C of E Combined School
1st           -              Charlotte Armitage
2nd          -              Téare Hawkes
3rd           -              Beth Featonby-Roberts
Broughton School
1st           -              Jake Turney
2nd          -              James Storey
3rd           -              William Richards
Highly Commended        -              Morgan Garricks

Overstone School – Wing
1st           -              Rachel Jones
2nd          -              Dominic Neenan
3rd           -              Alex Lockley / Sophie Lambros
Highly Commended        -              Isabelle Patience-Slade / Sophie Flecknell
Elmhurst School
Highly Commended        -              Gemma Guille / Taiba Azram
Unknown School            
Highly Commended        -              Emily Payne

Rotary Club Essay Competition winner is Ben Gorman

Congratulations Ben!  You are the winner in our annual essay competition. The judges were very impressed with your submission where you pretended to be a journalist. We're working on organising a day out where you can test out your career dreams.

Ben Gorman is a pupil at William Harding School and the certificate was presented by Coleen Allen, a Rotarian who organised the competition.

Essay Competition: St Mary's School Fairford Leys - Best overall school

Coleen Allen was thrilled to present St Mary's School in Fairford Leys with the of Certificate for the Best Overall Standard of Essays of all the Aylesbury Schools.

In addition to this overall prize, the other internal School winners are:

Kieran Howlett – 1st
Alex Wadlow – 2nd
George Harvey – 3rd

Highly Commended – Benjamin Thompson/ Georgia Essex / Lorne 

Well done St Mary's. This was the first year we awarded this overall certificate and we felt we just had to give the school extra praise for the superb standard of all the essays submitted by them. 

Wednesday, 4 July 2012

2012-21013 Meeting & Events Schedule is now available

The Rotary year begins on the 1st July.  The new schedule for meetings and other events is now available. It will be updated with more details as the year progresses.

The new schedule reflects demands from potential new members that we provide times of meetings more suited to the busy professional - so you will see we now offer a Twilight mtg mostly on the 2nd and 4th Mondays of the month) starting at 5:45.

If you'd like to come along to a meeting to see what we're all about, and considering joining the Club, then feel free to just turn up, or contact us first if you prefer.

Tuesday, 3 July 2012

New Member joins Aylesbury Rotary Club: Welcome Graham Webster

Roy Collis (left), at his first meeting as President of Aylesbury Rotary Club on Monday 2nd July, had the splendid task of inducting Graham Webster (right) into Rotary. We are all thrilled to have Graham join Rotary and look forward to him playing an active role in Club activities.

Why does The Rotary year begin 1st July?

Rotary has been around for over a century. Around 1911 the administrative year was set as 1st July through to end June. There's not a lot of information around as to why those dates but if you are interested then you can find out more here:

Monday, 2 July 2012

GSE Banner Handover from Australian Trip

We received a bumper crop of Rotary Club Banners at the Presidents Dinner on 23rd June 2012. Traditionally, when members visit another Club they exchange banners. In our Club we stitch these onto large felt panels (thank you Charo Cornter-May for managing this!) and then display these at our meetings. They are a constant reminder of how Rotary Clubs all over the world are connected.

Our club nominated two of the GSE (Group Study Exchange) candidates who went on the March trip to Sydney, Australia.  Emma Eyles and Andrew Kay did us proud in the professional way in which they have embraced the Exchange and Rotary in general. They gave us a presentation about their trip and we were pleased to hear they are already putting new ideas into action in their Aylesbury jobs.
(If you are interested in applying for the New Zealand GSE in 2013, applications are open.)

President's Dinner, Assembly and Handover to new Club Officers 2012/13

On the 23rd June we celebrated the end of the 2011/12 Rotary year and handed over to the new Club Officers.
From the left:
Dr Helen Falcon - Jnr Vice President
Charo Cornter-May - Snr Vice President
Roy Collis DL - President
Dr Sarah Fraser - outgoing President
Jenni Muir - outgoing Assistant District Governor

Sarah, as outgoing President, listed the highlights of her year:

  • Inaugural Young Photographer Competition, which was organised jointly with Wendover & District Rotary Club
  • Inaugural Rotary Rounders Tournament, which was organised and run by the Club's New Generations group
  • Change of mtg times to include Twilight meetings (5:45 - 7pm), tomake us more accessible to potential members
  • Success of the Carol Float in raising money for local charities
  • Stroke Awareness Campaign day which once again worked well - especially when combined with Shelterbox
  • Reconnection with District and more joint working with other Clubs.